Total War: THREE KINGDOMS – Eight Princes FAQ


CA KingGobbo
July 16 2019

The Eight Princes Chapter Pack is set 100 years after the events of Total War: THREE KINGDOMS, and features a new cast of playable factions led by the foremost princes of the Jin dynasty. These Eight Princes offer substantially different campaign mechanics, focusing their playstyles in fascinating and unique ways.

We’re sure you have a lot of questions about the Eight Princes DLC, but worry not – we’ve got a comprehensive FAQ for you below.


What is Eight Princes?

Eight Princes is a Chapter Pack DLC for Total War: THREE KINGDOMS.

What is a Chapter Pack?

Chapter Packs add new start positions and stories that cover time periods linked to the main narrative of the Three Kingdoms, tying closely into the content and features of the main campaign.

When will Eight Princes be released?

The Eight Princes Chapter Pack will be released on Thursday the 8th of August 2019.

Is there a pre-purchase discount?

Pre-purchasing the Eight Princes Chapter Pack will allow you to benefit from a 10% discount off the DLC’s normal price.

What’s the free content that will be released alongside the DLC?

There will be a free-LC released alongside the Eight Princes DLC, the details of which will be announced on the 1st of August 2019.

When does the War of the Eight Princes take place?

The War of the Eight Princes takes places after the events covered by Total War: THREE KINGDOMS, with the campaign itself beginning in 291 CE.

After the establishment of the Jin dynasty in 266 CE by Sima Yi’s descendants, the passing of Emperor Wu – formerly Sima Yan – and the incapability of his heir and the new emperor Sima Zhong – now Emperor Hui – has plunged the Sima family into civil war as the princes chosen by the kingdom’s late ruler vie for control.

Who are the Eight Princes?

The eponymous Eight Princes are as follows:

  • Sima Yong, The Shrewd Defender
  • Sima Jiong, The Imperious Regent
  • Sima Yue, The Imperial Overseer
  • Sima Ai, The Principled Administrator
  • Sima Ying, The Beloved Governor
  • Sima Lun, The Usurper Prince
  • Sima Liang, The Rightful Regent
  • Sima Wei, The Tempestuous General

What are the eight princes fighting for?

Each of the eight princes want to seize control of the Jin Empire for themselves.

To find out more about the eight princes’ motives, check out the Eight Princes hub page.

What new units will be in the Eight Princes DLC?

Check our Eight Princes hub page for all the latest information about the eight princes’ unique new units and abilities.